Attention A T users. To access the menus on this page please perform the following steps. 1. Please switch auto forms mode to off. 2. Hit enter to expand a main menu option (Health, Benefits, etc). 3. To enter and activate the submenu links, hit the down arrow. You will now be able to tab or arrow up or down through the submenu options to access/activate the submenu links.

Viral Hepatitis and Liver Disease

Quick Links
Veterans Crisis Line Badge
My healthevet badge

Hepatitis C Genotype: Test of Hepatitis C

for Veterans and the Public

Hepatitis C genotype - Hepatitis C for Patients

The hepatitis C genotype is a type or "strain" of hepatitis C virus. There are 6 genotypes of hepatitis C around the world. In the United States, 3 genotypes are common:

  • Genotype 1
  • Genotype 2
  • Genotype 3

These can be further specified as:

  • Genotype 1a or 1b
  • Genotype 2a or 2b or 2c
  • Genotype 3a or 3b

A person's hepatitis C genotype does not change over time. It needs to be tested only once. If you are treated for hepatitis C, your genotype will determine your treatment plan, such as which medications are prescribed and how long the treatment will be.